Proffered Fists

Proffered – hold out or put forward (something) to someone for acceptance.

Well, the major part of the image that India leaves on the world comes from the fact that we have around 100 million beggars across the country. Slumdog Millionaires is what we were/are called.

Putting across to you some of the “above average” dramatic pictures I have taken of some of the beggars, over a period of time.

Poverty is the worst form of violence ~ Mahatma Gandhi.

Poverty is the worst form of violence ~ Mahatma Gandhi.

I took the above picture in Kota (Rajasthan) while I was travelling from Mumbai to New Delhi in 2013. I saw this woman, walking across the train, bogie to bogie in the hope/want of getting alms.  After crossing 5 bogies, I saw a hand coming out and giving her something and that’s when I clicked this photo.

There is little difference in people, but that little difference makes a big difference. The little difference is attitude. The big difference is whether it is positive or negative ~ W. Clement Stone.

The above picture is surely a mixture of various emotions. Saw this guy sitting in front of shop in South Mumbai with his fists upfront in that position, after he saw me point my camera towards him.

Poverty is a veil that obscures the face of greatness ~ Khalil Gibran.

Poverty is a veil that obscures the face of greatness ~ Khalil Gibran.

Another one that I saw at the Vapi Railway Station in Vapi, Gujarat.

Hope you liked this post as much as you liked the previous ones. Feel free to leave a suggestion, criticism or anything that you feel like for that matter. Also, Shreyas has compiled an e-book on his recent trip to Sikkim. You can download it over here.

Thanks,
Jasmeet Singh.

13 thoughts on “Proffered Fists

Leave a comment